Tuesday, May 31, 2011
FIELD DAY
It was volunteer day as we went to Liana's field day and then to Alexa's kindergarten party! We really have great kids, and that is a joy. And I am finding more and more ways to have fun with them. I think that getting my life more in order will help too, but I am really open to whatever you have in store for me. I hope that the next couple of days really are beneficial and help me to see your will for me. Most importantly, I hope to make my life yours and not my own.
Monday, May 30, 2011
MEMORIAL DAY
It looks like I have finally kicked the mental addiction to food. I also have made great progress in my thinking about marriage. I also realize what a great life I have. It really seems like I have a great thing going right now, so thank you God.
Friday, May 27, 2011
BULLS DOWN
Twelve point lead with four minutes to go...nothing is safe when you are watching the game at 317 Hale. I was really disappointed in myself today. I obviously have slept enough. I have no reason to be so, but I was really short with the kids. They deserve better. You deserve better. I try and be a good role model. I try and be the person you want me to be, but don't you know it, I keep failing. I should try and figure this thing out. Or maybe I should just trust God and let Him show me out.
Tuesday, May 24, 2011
ONIONS BABY, ONIONS
So I actually didn't yell, but I did get "mad". These girls are just driving me nuts some time. And it seems like I can't get enough free time, although I have had nothing but all week. I just feel off. And while I am starting to come back, it is a tough road. And then tonight, Derrick Rose did nothing again in crunch time and the Bulls lost. Same old story. I don't know why it bothers me so much, it is only the NBA, but I really can't stand the Heat. It is probably time for me to get over that though. And I will admit, watching the game with Mark Melton is the most fun way to watch any sporting event!
Monday, May 23, 2011
REST
I was a complete mess this morning. At basketball I embarrassed myself, just not being very nice and not hustling. After some naps though, I feel a lot better! The lesson learned is that I don't have to work myself to death, don't have to wake up way early, but that if I put my trust in God, good things happen!
Sunday, May 22, 2011
BULLS LOSE
I am so tired, at least I am using the excuse of being tired, that it is effecting my parenting. After a good start, I have gone back to becoming a woos, making excuses, not getting done what needs to get done and being a mad parent. I blame not sleeping, but I know that it is my own lack of discipline and effort that are the problem and that my mental state just isn't what it should be. It is amazing that when I try and work out hard, when I really work hard at what I do, it transfers to all areas of life. Even you suffer.
Thursday, May 19, 2011
SERIOUSLY!
I don't know what happened today. It was one of those parenting days where you just throw everything out of the window. First, Liana was a total wack job...all over a wet towel. So she lied twice, took a nap, wouldn't listen to anything I said; it was crazy. And then Tessa comes home and from the bus to our house she called Mark "stupid", hit him and quit a race. We spent 45 minutes just dealing with conflict after everybody got home. But we did work out. We did do Man vs. Drink. And we did see Mark put on a great performance in his play. All in all, it turned out pretty good. I love being a dad. I just wish I knew what else to do with that.
Wednesday, May 18, 2011
INTERVIEW, PART II
It was another great interview today and I am really wondering if I can swing this. I never imagined that this would be a possibility, but now there is a chance...not a good chance, but a chance. For some reason though, I feel bad about all that is happening in life. This St. Francis thing really has me feeling bad about teaching there. I feel like I should just fracture my Catholic ties and move on, but I have no bad feelings towards the church and just want people to know about you. The more I think about it, the more I think I should be working in a church, but that doesn't really work for family. I just don't know where life is headed. Is teaching the best for me to be a dad? I just can't seem to think clearly.
Tuesday, May 17, 2011
OHS
I started the day with four job possibilities and now I may be down to one! Easy come, easy go I guess. I have to admit though, I ain't worried. I do wonder what direction my life will take when the kids go to school. I believe in my heart that God has something planned, but what seems to make sense? Of course, what God has planned is probably better than anything that I could make sense of.
Monday, May 16, 2011
COLIN TIME
I got to rap and break down Bulls' basketball with third graders today...what a great stage. You can still be an idiot, but also talk some real stuff too! And hanging out with Colin turned out to be really good. He is great to talk to. And finally the kids did another double feature. I love those suckers! Now to the life slump. I have decided to end this, start working hard at the workouts again and get stuff done. 2-0-1-1, let's get it done! Time to step up mentally!
Sunday, May 15, 2011
BULLS WIN
Sure, there was disappointment over my own performance at the wedding. In all that I've done, this was the most like Erica and Michael's where I really wanted to do well. And yet, those were the worst two I did. But Speedway is open, our kids were so awesome at the wedding and made it the funnest wedding in ten years and now the Bulls beat the Heat by 21. Seriously, life is good!
Saturday, May 14, 2011
SPEEDWAY
The joys and the pains! At 6:30, basketball was finished, I turned the corner and there it was...Speedway with cars in the gas lines. At the same time, Mike and Mike were talking Kyle Orton trade rumors, the Bulls had just won their series against the Hawks...life couldn't be better. Then, we tried three times to go to Speedway and still not open...Dawg! The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away! Either way, it was a great day highlighted by the Uncle Bob (Rob) and Suzi wedding.
Wednesday, May 11, 2011
DEHYDRATION
After basketball and doing lawn work all morning, I was really tired, and really thirsty. I worked myself pretty hard, and so I thought that a nap would be great, but as you know it, just couldn't really sleep, but it was cool because I finished the book and fell back asleep. I still was crabby dad and just don't feel good because there was so much to do, but at least I was better than yesterday. I just wish I could be like the old Jim Melton and be fun in life. And be more selfless, especially in my speech. More questions!
Tuesday, May 10, 2011
MOW THE LAWN
Everything got in today, my mind is clearer and I really appreciated the chance to help out the folks by doing the lawn and other stuff. We even went golfing as a family...and it was awesome! It was a really great day, but when we got to dinner time, man was I wiped. It was the first hot day of the year, and maybe that took its tool. Maybe the running and doing all the work outside was tough. All I know is that my attitude fell. I even said something kind of in a mad voice to Tessa...woops. I am really disappointed in that. I don't even know why. It was total frustration. I really have to say sorry tomorrow.
Monday, May 9, 2011
iPOD JACK
It was frustrating. I spent another day traveling to Naperville to find out that the iPod jack wouldn't work. I questioned whether those folks really worked us or was it a common mistake. I really believe that it was a common mistake, but man it still seems like such a waste. In reality though, the plusses of today totally outweigh the minuses. With figuring some things out from my mental state and then having fun playing basketball to determining what could be better in my life...there was a lot of good that was happening. So thanks for a great day!
Sunday, May 8, 2011
MOTHER'S DAY
Well, we had a chat today and it went as usual. No matter what I do, it just seems like it ticks off my wife. But at least it gives me a chance at forgiveness. The problem is, we don't make any ground. But as long as we're talking, there is a chance. I realize that the worst thing I do right now is be a husband. I realize that the worst aspect of my life right now is marriage, but I just feel like we can lick anything. This too.
Saturday, May 7, 2011
LIBRARY
I went to the library today, just like I thought I was being "whispered" to, and they didn't have the video that I went to get and it just seemed to be a waste of time. One thing that was good though, I really did realize that simple is good. We don't need to have everything and doing without some stuff is cool. What we need more is people time. We did have the Talent Show tonight and while I may be a dork, it was a great night! I am so proud of our kids! They really love school, love supporting their friends and are just really nice to be around. Mark is the guy you can just be with, Alexa will work all day long as exercise and sports stuff, Tessa will make you laugh and Liana is just on another planet...but in a good way with a good heart. And Sofia and Grace and people you can have fun with. It was just another reminder tonight of how great our family is!
Thursday, May 5, 2011
LAST HOME AND SCHOOL
I feel very much like there is too much to do. I know that this ain't the case, but I think it is just wanting to rest, to take a break, but I realize that there is so much to do for tomorrow. I don't want every day to be easy, but tonight I would just like a break. I know that it is me being selfish, but it would be great to be able to just go to sleep right now.
MONEY DAY
Today I actually told Kathy not to stress about money. If I am keeping score, then over Lent I found out that I really don't have to base my life's enjoyment on the food I eat. In fact, if I am doing it right, food can be just to fulfill a need to nourish my body. Now, I am not stressed about money, can this be happening. Heck, I don't even get ticked at sports. Almost 40, could it be that I am turning into an adult?
Tuesday, May 3, 2011
HE'S BACK
I have been sick. I have been really tired, really tired. I have been not eating too well. Well today I got back on track. Unfortunately, there is so much to do from not keeping up with all the work, it will be a late night. I will tell you this though, my mental outlook is a lot better after sleeping. I haven't really been worrying, in fact I should be more stressed. But I have just been tired and sick, maybe that is the key. I still hope to progress in the "being a good role model to my kids" department, but as always, I am getting better. I should probably stop "making progress" and do what needs to get done.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)